Holiday Mode vs. Extending Dispatch Dates
With the promise of the Easter holidays coming up, what’s the best way to manage your Etsy shop if you are going away?
There are two options. The first is to use Etsy’s ‘Holiday mode’ and the second is to extend your dispatch times, but what are the pros and cons of each method?
- A notice will appear at the top of your shop page saying that you’re taking a short break.
- Other Etsy members who visit your shop can sign up to be notified by email of your return.
- You can set an auto-reply that will be sent in response to any conversations you receive while on holidays.
- Your items won’t appear as an auto-suggestion in Search or other Search shopping tools.
- Your shop will only appear if someone searches for your exact shop name.
- The ‘Add to cart’ button will be greyed out.
- It can take a long time to recover from being hidden from Search.
Find out how to turn on holiday mode for your shop with this article from Etsy’s seller handbook.
Extending your dispatch times
- Your items and shop will appear in Search as normal.
- You will still be able to accept orders via your shop.
- Your shop will keep working for you, whilst you put your feet up!
- You can manage your shop on the go with the Sell on Etsy app for iPhone and Android.
- You can’t send auto-replies to any conversations you receive whilst away.
- You may need to manage customers expectations much earlier than normal (and potentially offer refunds if orders are required swiftly)
- Logging in to your shop from abroad may trigger a security alert with Etsy (we know someone that it happened to!)
- If you work from home, be aware that your business address is visible to potential customers via your Etsy shop – do you want to advertise that your home is possibly unoccupied?
In the interests of earning money and not undoing all of your hard work with SEO, increasing your dispatch times may seem like the logical option. However, it’s not just a matter of changing a few dates!
Use these handy tips to help prepare your shop:
- Update the processing times in your shipping profiles
- Include a message in your shop announcement to advise that you are extending dispatch times
- Use the bulk edit tool to add a sentence to each of your listings about extended dispatch times
- Create a snippet so that you can respond to queries about delivery with one click
And finally, if you decide to extend your dispatch times, don’t forget to undo all of the above when it’s back to business as usual!
So how do you decide which to use?
There is no clear cut answer and in conclusion, it will all be down to your personal circumstances:
- how long will you be away for?
- what sort of online access will you have?
- do you just want to forget about work?